Author Mary Martel #interview

Please give a warm welcome to author Mary Martel

Tell us a bit about yourself

Hi. My name is Mary Martel and I’m the author of the Ariel Kimber series. I live in North Dakota, which I’m way over at the moment because I hate winter and it’s so damn cold here that it’s stupid and going outside feels like torture. I have two beautiful little girls that mean everything to me, a Pomeranian that was my dad’s little baby and is a stuck up brat but we love her, two kitties, a bunny and my latest addition being two ferrets that my husband recently got me. It’s a handful and I love it.

Have you always wanted to become an author?

Ahhh…. I want to say yes because I used to take creative writing classes and I’ve always enjoyed writing for fun but it’s not something I ever thought I could make a career out of.

What was your inspiration for your current book/series?

My inspiration for my current book/series… Well, I have so many projects going at the moment that it’s kind of hard to answer this. Sometimes it can just be a picture that I find somewhere that gives me an idea and then I go and hunt down other pictures. I have an Inspiration Board that I put all of my pictures on and it’s up in my office. I’m always taking things down and adding new pictures to it whenever I find something that inspires me.

What are you working on right now?

Umm… I have two co-writes that I’m working on, one that is a super secret and the other one I just announced in my readers group. I am also working on Pretty Ugly, which is the next book in my Mercy Motorcycle Club series. And, Black as Midnight, which is the next full length Ariel Kimber book. I also have my Ruby Jane vampire book that I’ve been slowly working on when I have time and probably like 8 other projects that nobody else knows about because I’ve been keeping a lot fo my things hidden away until they are done.

What are your hopes for the future?

I think everyone hopes to be successful and I’m no different but I try really hard not to have serious expectations when it comes to my books so that way I’m never disappointed with how they do.

Do you have any quirks while writing?

Yes. LOL. I do not like the quiet. But, I also cannot listen to music while writing because I find it distracting. So, I have to have my television on while writing for the background noise that it gives me. It’s weird.

Do you have any advice for new authors about the publishing world?

Keep writing. It’s very easy to get discouraged and want to give up, but you just need to keep on writing and not let things like shitty reviews drag you down. Don’t ever go on Goodreads to check out your reviews because it will only make you feel like crap. And keep writing. I can’t stress that last part enough. If you quit then you’re never going to get anywhere.

Do you have anything to say to your readers?

Yes! I freaking adore each and every single one of you. Thank you so much for taking this crazy journey with me, the best is yet to come.

Buy link

Amazon US

Amazon AU

Amazon CA

Amazon UK

Author links

Twitter

Website

Amazon

BookBub

Facebook

Instagram

Goodreads

The Dollhouse- A Mary Martel Readers Group

One comment on “Author Mary Martel #interview

  1. Pingback: Author Mary Martel #interview – Mary Martel

Leave a comment