Bill Cosby and Rape Culture

Wise words.

The Midnight Writer

I mostly post poetry and the occasional gnome on The Midnight Writer. However, I feel some things cannot be adequately expressed in verse. If you do not wish continue reading social commentary or opinion, I will be back shortly with creative writing.

*****

There is a long list of people who inspire me and a growing list of people who inspired me. As much as I would like to deny it, I looked up to people like Woody Allen and Bill Cosby. They were creative geniuses to me, and I thought I wanted to be like them. The Cosby Show and films like Manhattan resonated: I felt like there was progress toward something, an underlying sense of beauty and direction in dark places. I never imagined either man responsible for creating such enigmatic and strong women like Annie Hall or Clair Huxtable would be responsible for abusing them. But they are. Perhaps I…

View original post 246 more words

Leave a Reply

