#PoetryWeek – poet Heather Grace Stewart

A Life Among The Pages

Banner

fancy line

My Path to Print On Demand Poetry

By Heather Grace Stewart

I’m a poet. Okay, I trained as a journalist and have worked as an associate editor for four national magazines. I’ve heard all the jokes and stereotypes about poets, so I didn’t have the courage to call myself one until I was 33. I was a new mother who had seen enough late nights, early mornings and yellow baby poop that it didn’t matter anymore if everyone laughed at me when I told them how I was going to try to make a living.

I don’t make a living writing and publishing poetry books, but it makes me a life. It’s a large part of what brings me joy every day. As a work at home mother, I make some pretty good ‘college fund money’ (for my daughter) and ‘shoe money’ (for me) reading poetry and speaking about being…

View original post 693 more words

Leave a Reply

